Saturday, September 12, 2009

Sunday: In a Nutshell

There are 13 games this Sunday.
That is a lot of games.
Luckily, most of them are on at the same time and you have me to help you.
Don't panic.

There are nine games in the morning, three in the afternoon and one at night. These are the games everyone will be talking about and why:

MORNING GAMES (10am Pacific/1pm Eastern):


PHILADELPHIA EAGLES VS. CAROLINA PANTHERS
Generally expected to be a good game all around. Michael Vick (Eagles) will not be playing--hopefully, he will also not be killing dogs.

MINNESOTA VIKINGS VS. CLEVELAND BROWNS
Brett Favre's first game back since 2nd retirement. Will he last this time or be forever exiled to the Ben Gay commercial hall of fame?

The Browns have decided to start Brady Quinn as their QB instead of Derek Anderson. I have my own theory as to why this happened. Click on Derek....and then Brady....and you tell me. Poor Derek Anderson. It's not his fault.

JACKSONVILLE JAGUARS VS. INDIANAPOLIS COLTS

Everybody loves Peyton Manning.

DETROIT LIONS VS. NEW ORLEANS SAINTS

Detroit lost EVERY SINGLE GAME last year. Now that is just sad. Here's your chance to shout, "C'mon, kiddos! Let's get it together!" or something to that effect.

AFTERNOON GAMES (1:15pm Pacific/4:15pm Eastern):


SAN FRANCISCO 49ERS VS. ARIZONA CARDINALS
The Cardinals played against the Pittsburgh Steelers (you remember them as the winners of Thursday's game) in last year's Superbowl. They didn't win. Everyone's waiting to see if they'll cry about it.

And don't forget about the so-called "Madden Curse." We'll all be watching Larry Fitzgerald try desperately hard not to get injured. I managed to find an actual list of who's been on the video game cover and what's happened to them. (I know, people actually write this stuff down!?) I'm guessing Larry is a wee bit paranoid at this point. I'm sure everyone staring at him and gasping every time he stumbles will totally help his chances.

WASHINGTON REDSKINS VS. NEW YORK GIANTS
Peyton Manning's little brother, Eli (who beat Tom Brady in the Superbowl two years ago) just signed an ENORMOUS deal with the Giants (he's a QB as well). Now he's just as rich as Peyton. And just as awkward looking.

NIGHT GAME (5:20pm Pacific/8:20pm Eastern):


CHICAGO BEARS VS. GREEN BAY PACKERS
Two great teams. The Bears just signed a new QB named Jay Cutler, or, as my husband and his friends call him, "Gay Butler." Now, don't ask me why (I'm assured there is no reason), but I'll bet you'll now remember Mr. Jay Cutler's name for the rest of your life.

And that's it! Highlights will be up late late Sunday night. Next week we'll take a look at a Fantasy Football draft through my eyes and go over a few more positions, sort out the teams, that kind of stuff.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Follow by Email!!